Terramin welcomes ongoing committee involvement

08 September 2007 | 07:33 Code : 15186 Geoscience events
Terramin Australia has welcomed the South Australian Government’s ongoing....

  Terramin Australia has welcomed the South Australian Government’s ongoing commitment to the Community Consultative Committee for the company’s Angas zinc mine, situated south of Adelaide.The State Government has announced the appointment of Charles Irwin as Committee Chairman to succeed former SA Premier, Dean Brown, who has been Chairman since the Committee’s formation in May 2006.Terramin’s Executive Chairman, Dr Kevin Moriarty said the government’s decision to form the committee last year led to a rigorous and constructive process in examining all aspects of the various phases of Terramin’s mine development application for the Angas zinc project.Dr Moriarty commended Dean Brown for his work as during the critical approvals process.Dr Moriarty said the appointment of Mr Irwin as Chairman reflected the South Australian Government’s ongoing positive and strong commitment towards the state’s emerging resources industry.“For the Angas project, it has been a most constructive initiative, allowing the true facts to reach and inform the community,” Dr Moriarty said. “The Committee has brought together the relevant government departments and industry experts to work through the issues raised by various interest groups. “Terramin looks forward to a continuation of the fruitful outcomes that have evolved from the involvement of the independent Community Consultative Committee in this project,” he said.The $64m development of the Angas zinc mine is on target to commence production next year.

tags: QAZVIN

Your Comment :